my first blog post ever

So let me just start by saying, this is my first blog post. Ever. So go easy on me. Or not. I thrive on constructive criticism. Just a little intro to who I am and what I’m about:

My name is Nicole, I’m 29 years old and I am 2 years out from a Thyroid Cancer diagnosis as of June 19th. I’m currently in transition of making a huge move from Long Island, NY to Columbus, OH with my boyfriend.
I want to make a difference in the world with my writing, or at least try to. I have finally figured out what I want to do career wise, about 10 years later than we are “supposed to” figure that out. But good things take time, right? Better late than never in my opinion. I have landed on writing, publishing and editing. Words are powerful, and I want to use mine.

I have a million thoughts flying around my head like a chaotic word tornado, that it’s hard to capture them and form them into fluid coherent thoughts sometimes. I think so much. Some say too much. I can’t help it. I’m a thinker (an over thinker), and I analyze things far too much sometimes, which oddly has helped me on some occasions. I’m just going to say that I’m really not sure how to start this blog. For someone with so many words in their head constantly, the right words are simply eluding me for this first post. Which is extremely frustrating being that I had so many ideas when I created this, and as soon as I put pen to paper .. fingers to keyboard? I guess thats more fitting, my mind went blank.

I want to have this blog touch on the big things in my life. So to simply outline what I mean by “big things”, they are:

1. the big “C” and the empowering (most times frustrating) feeling of self-advocating

2. moving 10 hours away from family, friends, and everything I’ve ever known my whole life

3. finding family that was kept from me selfishly by other family members.

I pretty much have those things happening all at the same time right now, it’s no wonder I have a hard time putting words together. Aside from having a chronic illness of hypothyroidism as a result of the big C i mentioned earlier, that actually does effect my thinking sometimes, I’m amazed I can even speak some days when my mind is constantly all over the place.

So bear with me for the first post or two until I get my footing here. I promise things will get better! Just hang in there and trust me. I know you’re probably thinking, “I don’t know you, why trust you? So far this is pretty mediocre at best.” And you’re absolutely right. But If you hang in there a few posts you’ll see I’m really not that terrible at writing. Like I said earlier, constructive criticism is more than welcomed, it’s actually highly encouraged! Constructive though, don’t be mean. We should all strive to build each other up, not tear each other down.

My goal is to post once a week, maybe more. If there are things you want to know, or things you’d like to see me write about, you can absolutely ask and request. Depending on the question / request, I may or may not answer. But I will do my best; I want to build our relationship. I will follow your blogs as well.

til next time,

Cole

Leave a Reply

